The Complexities of Putting Ideals into Practice: Interview with Margaret Randall by Linda Ruutu

Films and feminists inspire. A University of Connecticut undergrad viewed The Unapologetic Life of Margaret Randall in a recent WGSS course at UConn and was moved to contact this amazing feminist activist to find out answers to some important questions. The result is this fine interview published in the Monthly Review.

margaret_randall

Margaret Randall

Here is just a snippet in reply to a question about Margaret’s ability to transform personal injustices into broader social understanding. This question involved her struggle to regain her U.S. citizenship in the face of a denial because of the 1952 McCarran-Walter Immigration and Nationality Act.

So I felt an obligation to fight for those people as well as for myself. I knew it would be important to use my case to try to change immigration law in general. This intimate knowledge played itself out for me in a number of concrete ways. For example, throughout the years of my immigration case I was constantly made to feel that if I just said I was sorry, that I “would never write those things again,” it might help me win. I won’t say I wasn’t tempted from time to time. But I knew that I must stick to my conviction that I had a right to have written what I had written, to have expressed the opinions I had expressed — even when twenty years after the fact I might express them differently. I would wake every morning and recommit myself to defending the ideals in which I believed.

Here’s the link to the interview: http://mrzine.monthlyreview.org/2013/randall240713.html

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 127 other followers

