Independent Women’s Forum: Conservative Feminism?

Dear Readers,

I apologize for the long absence.

March is National Women’s History Month (which started out as NWH Week) and I’m preparing a web site of resources which will be linked from the News section on the Library main page. More about that in another post.

However, this has made me take a whirlwind tour of places I’ve never gone before on the ‘net and found a curious site: Independent Women’s Forum .

I say curious as the wrapper seems to say all the things we’d expect to see. For instance, it uses as its motto/slogan, “All issues are women’s issues.” Sounds good.

Then it has its mission as:

The Independent Women’s Forum is a non-partisan, 501(c)(3) research and educational institution. Founded in 1992, IWF focuses on issues of concern to women, men, and families. Our mission is to rebuild civil society by advancing economic liberty, personal responsibility, and political freedom. IWF builds support for a greater respect for limited government, equality under the law, property rights, free markets, strong families, and a powerful and effective national defense and foreign policy. IWF is home to some of the nation’s most influential scholars—women who are committed to promoting and defending economic opportunity and political freedom.

So now my sensors are beginning to sound off. It begins in a seemingly progressive stance using “rebuild” and “advancing” but then turns decided conservative. Seems it’s saying let’s progress back to the way things used to be.

So, I went in a bit further. Wondered what their stance on abortion would be so I used their search engine. One result said,

We at the IWF have no official position on abortion. We have both pro-life and pro-choice women on our board and staff, and we welcome both pro-life and

But the link was broken, no article appeared. Is it true what they said? Who knows?

Then there was an article about breast cancer detection, etc. Okay. At the end there were two comments from readers

2 Comments
Dave | October 9, 2007, 1:37pm |

If these people are so worried about breast cancer, why don’t they acknowledge the abortion-breast-cancer link? Not politically correct? What cost in lives has this political correctness had so far? If you want to address the problem, fine, but don’t omit a very important factor for politically correct reasons.

Maureen | October 12, 2007, 9:27pm |

Dave,I agree. Additionally, many oral contraceptives cause abortions (in sexually active women on the birth control pill, on the average, pregnancy does take place once every 18 months). Doctors don’t usually share that information with women (unless they ask). Those fertilized eggs (baby humans) are then expelled (unbeknown to their mothers) because the third mechanism of the birth control pill, is to make the womb a hostile environment; thus causing that baby to abort. These “unknown” abortions then become part of the abortion/breast cancer link.

????

There were no posts disagreeing with these readers.

One last document (very recent) did get a viewing by a dissenting voice. The title says a lot:

Independent Women’s Forum – Position Paper No. 606 Who Pays for My Time Off? The Costs and Consequences of Government-Mandated Leave

In response to an interview on this topic, a woman entreprenuer said:

just heard your groups rep on Thom Hartman’s show and it made me ill. As a female entrepreneur for 30 years, I was disgusted at what she had to say. I don’t need to provide crap jobs and pay to my employees to do well myself. I gladly have earned less for myself and taken good care of those who work for me. I have always paid much more than minimum wage and have provided healthcare. In return I have almost zero turnover, no pilferage and loyalty from those I employ. We are a team. Your “male” oriented approach is a real sellout. It is inhumane to treat people as chattel and you shame women everywhere by such a terrible attitude towards others. Your group is just another shill group for corporations that put profit over people and it is making the planet a terrible place to inhabit in every way. I am ashamed to share a gender with such unenlightened thinking. Profit over people is a terrible and impractical mindset. If you admire the way the guys have been running things why not switch genders and quit giving us a bad name?

Well, I’ve had enough. I know I ought to check back here once in a while to see what they are up to and maybe they will even put up that abortion document someday.

Independent women? I think not. They seem quite tied to a lot of political and social dogma. They do write well, though. So, be very careful!

Please comment!

2 Responses

  1. Actually, I now realize “rebuild” is a dead giveaway. Bravo to all of you who caught that before I did.

  2. A representative from the Independent Women’s Forum is often a guest commenter on MSNBC (mainstream TV news)… It’s frustrating how groups like this get so much airtime on national TV when they aren’t helping women.

Leave a Reply

