From Salon Life: Rebecca Traister writes on Palin’s effect

Have you found yourself conflicted about Sarah Palin? She is a woman, after all, but her nomination to the Vice Presidency just did not feel right to a lot of people. There will be lots of discussion on this as we sort it all out. I’ll post the best of what I find. Here are two places to start.

Zombie feminists of the RNC

How did Sarah Palin become a symbol of women’s empowerment? And how did I, a die-hard feminist, end up terrified at the idea of a woman in the White House?


I have been writing about feminism for more than five years; I have been covering the gender politics of the 2008 presidential election for more than two. And I am absolutely gobsmacked by the intensity of my feelings about Sarah Palin. I am stunned not only by the way in which her candidacy has changed the rules in the gender debate, or how it is twisting and garbling the fight for women’s progress. But I’m also startled by how Palin herself is testing my own beliefs about how I react to women in power.

Read more at Sarah Palin, feminism, 2008 election | Salon Life

The second was posted on the WMST listserv. Thanks to Mary Celeste Kearney for pointing us to the October 17, 2008 special issue of Flowtv.org: Sarah Palin and the Media.

There’s so much to talk about.

Leave a Reply

